Super Rugby

Super Rugby

Super Rugby Pacific is a distinguished sports competition including teams across Australia and New Zealand. In 2022, the competition welcomed the Fijian Drua and Moana Pasifika, making it a twelve team league. The competition spans 18 weeks, with a total of 91 matches being played. The teams play 14 regular season matches, each team hosting seven matches. They are ranked on one competition table that reflects the competition points.

Super Rugby Pacific Teams

There are five Australian and five New Zealand teams. The remaining two are the Fijian Drua and the Moana Pasifika, a squad made up of players from several Pacific Island nations. The twelve teams are: Blues, Brumbies, Chiefs, Crusaders, Fijian Drua, Highlanders, Hurricanes, Melbourne Rebels, Moana Pasifika, NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds and Western Force.  


The Blues are based in Auckland at Eden Park. Their captain is Patrick Tuipulotu who plays lock. Tuipulotu has 105 caps for the team and his Blues debut came in 2014, with a match against the Dunedin-based team Highlanders. The Blues were established in 1996 by the New Zealand Rugby Union and were the team to beat back in Super Rugby’s infancy, winning consecutive titles in 1996 and 1997. 

The following year the team made the finals and in 2003, secured their third Super Rugby title. In 2021, they brought home their fourth title. The same year, the Blues laid the foundations for the first Women’s Super Rugby game to be hosted in New Zealand. The event played a significant role in the creation of Super Rugby Aupiki, an independent Women’s Super Rugby competition to commence in 2022.


The Chiefs are based in Hamilton at FMG Stadium Waikato and are captained by Luke Jacobson, who plays loose forward. Jacobson has 72 caps with the team and made his debut in 2018, with a match against Argentina. 

He first sported the captain’s armband in a match against the Melbourne Rebels in 2021, the game marking the start of a distinguished career as captain with the team. The Chiefs were founded in 1996 for the opening season of the Super 12, a professional competition and the first official ‘international domestic’ tournament. 

The Chiefs were formally known as the Waikato Chiefs and comprise three main teams. The Gallagher Chiefs compete in Super Rugby Pacific, whilst Chiefs Manawa take part in Super Rugby Aupiki. Finally, the University of Waikato U20s Chiefs. 


The Hurricanes hail from Wellington, their home ground Sky Stadium. The team’s captains are Brad Shields and Asafo Aumua. Shields plays loose forward and Aumua plays hooker. The Hurricanes were conceived when nine provincial rugby unions banded together to form the team in time for the start of the Super 12 in 1996. 

In 2016, the team reigned triumphant, finally winning their first Super Rugby title after 21 years. Their winning match was played against the South African Lions. It was a decisive victory for the team who took the crown with a commanding 20-3 win.  


The Apollo Projects Stadium in Christchurch is home to the Crusaders, the most successful team in the championship, boasting 14 titles. Born in 1995, the team constituted one of the five New Zealand teams that would launch the Super 12. 

The Crusaders suffered a disappointing first few matches of the Super 12, losing 26-27 to the Chiefs in their first match, and 18-49 by the Auckland Blues the following week. The team wound up last in the opening season of the Super 12. 

With a change in management came a change in luck for the team and in 1998, the team claimed their first title after a final against the Blues. The team is captained by Scott Barrett, who plays lock.


The Highlanders are based at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin and captained by Billy Harmon, who plays flanker. Harmon joined the team in 2021 after three seasons with the Crusaders. 

2015 proved to be a special year for the team, when they won their first Super Rugby title in a match against the Hurricanes at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium. The team were led to victory under captains Ben Smith and Shane Christie. 

Expressions Of Interest For Super Rugby Licenses

In December 2011, expressions of interest were requested for four of the five licenses. The Highlanders were not included in the initial process, although New Zealand Rugby commenced the process for the team in 2014.

Super Rugby Licensee Responsibilities

Super Rugby licensee responsibilities include the on-field and off-field management of the team, and facilitating the professional development of squad members. 

They are also responsible for paying the costs of match operations, training facilities, further coaching and management staff, administration and marketing. It is the duty of the licensee to promote the team and matches through marketing channels.

Has An Australian Team Ever Won Super Rugby?

The Brumbies became the first team outside of New Zealand to win the Super 12 in 2001. Following this, the Queensland Reds won the Super Rugby championship in 2011. The NSW Waratahs won the competition in 2014.

Where Can I Watch The Super Rugby?

You can watch the Super Rugby on a number of channels including Sky Sports, ESPN, Nine Network Australia, Stan Sport, Sky Pacific and Sky Network Television. 

What Channel Is Rugby On Tonight In NZ?

Rugby is on Sky Network Television in New Zealand.

Where Can I Watch Super Rugby 2024 For Free?

Sky Open provides New Zealanders with Super Rugby Saturday matches for free.

Recent Comments

No comments to show.

New Bookmakers

Established in 2016, provides an extensive array of live events available for betting each month, spanning a diverse range of betting markets. This review aims to assess the various offerings of the bookmaker, providing insights to help you, the bettor, determine whether stands as a worthwhile option for your betting preferences.